Uni-Tübingen

Notes on teaching in the winter semester 2020/2021

1. Organizational matters

What is different in the winter semester 2020/21?

Due to the corona pandemic, a different time schedule than usual is planned for the winter semester 2020/21. According to the decision of the Rectorate, each course - whether synchronous, online or in attendance - has a time window of 60 minutes. The remaining 30 minutes are to be provided asynchronously as a fixed component of the course. It is still essential that the learning outcomes of the course or module are achieved. This requires a clear structure and didactic design. This does not mean, however, that the 60 plus 30 scheme must be fulfilled in each week (see below). The following compilation is meant as a starting point.  More information on the application and use of tools will be added during the course of September.

 

How do students obtain important information about the course, its structure and didactic design?

A short description should be part of the announcement of the course in ALMA. Please also note where the course can be found on the learning platform. For your own preparation as well as for more detailed information for the students, it is recommended to write and provide a syllabus of the course. With the transparent information to the students, a framework and binding character can be set. The syllabus contains e.g. the learning outcomes of the course, the sequence and structure including the individual dates and deadlines, furthermore references to literature to be read, to tasks or questions to be worked on by the students, to course work and examination requirements as well as to communication rules and on how to interact with each other, etc. 
Interested individuals will find suggestions here, for example:

https://ctl.byu.edu/sites/default/files/designing-a-course-syllabus_0.pdf

 

Can several 30-minute units be combined?

Yes, that is possible. As far as the timeline is concerned, these blocks can be scheduled before or after the actual course.

 

How exactly should these units be calculated?

At this point it can only be a rough but plausible estimation. It is essential to supplement the synchronous course, also for the calculation of the teaching load.

Teaching on Saturdays

Our concept for a partial return to on-campus teaching in the winter semester includes the option of also using Saturdays for teaching classes. The university management and the Staff Council have now agreed that the following aspects will be observed:

  • On Saturdays, mainly block courses will be offered. Thus, the weekends will remain largely free of courses for teachers and students as usual.
  • Work on Saturdays is by mutual agreement only.
  • The respective superiors are requested to consider family tasks of their employees who are working on Saturdays, as well as voluntary work or further training.
  • Despite work on Saturdays, a five-day working week will be observed. It will be ensured that the employees concerned have two days off in a row, unless the employees themselves wish to arrange this in a different way.
  • If these conditions are not observed, those affected can turn to the following contact persons: The Vice-president for Academic Affairs, the Executive Vice-president, the respective deans, the head of the Student Affairs division or the Human Resources section. In addition, employees are free to turn to the Staff Council.

2. Concepts & didactic options

How can the asynchronous work phases be designed?

2.1. Inverted or flipped classroom

As an already well-proven model, the so-called inverted or flipped classroom is particularly suitable. The principle is simple and can be implemented in different ways: Content that is usually taught in courses on site can be appropriated by the students themselves in advance as video, podcast, online module (e.g. OER) or in traditional text study. The attendance time is reserved for in-depth study of the content, for discussion, and for questions to the teachers. There is room for interactive design and encounter. For seminars, presentations can also be pre-recorded or made available as a set of slides and a script - and with the materials also the associated questions. The same applies to the preparation of texts. Mathematical tasks can also be prepared for a joint on-site session. In addition, the use of forums is also possible during preparation.
A more specific example: a presentation will be uploaded in ILIAS as video or as slides with explanations in due time before the on-site date. In addition the students receive questions. Everyone prepares for the joint session with these materials. During the session the topics and questions are briefly addressed and serve as a starting point for further discussion.

In mathematics, for example, content is provided in advance as a recording, students work on associated task sheets and prepare the joint session in which questions and problems are discussed.

For the model of the inverted or flipped classroom with some examples see https://www.e-teaching.org/lehrszenarien/vorlesung/inverted_classroom 

Also very descriptive are the videos on mathematics by Prof. Christian Spannagel, PH Heidelberg - Introduction to the concept for students: 

If you want to read more: here is an article from Great Britain: https://core.ac.uk/download/pdf/30317388.pdf

2.2. Asynchronous group work

It is also conceivable to prepare or follow-up work on a session in an asynchronous group work led by the university teachers.  This is made possible in ILIAS e.g. by the Etherpad or the Wiki. With these tools e.g. questions and topics can be collected and structured in advance. In the follow-up work results can be saved, documented and formulated in writing. The tasks can be the same for everyone or different for each group. In the on-site session, intermediate results and results from the groups are recorded - preferably following a regular pattern. The teacher can comment briefly on the interim results or a student reports from one group.

Forms of Asynchronous group work

Groups in ILIAS

ILIAS allows the creation of groups (via "Add new object"), in which e.g. 3-4 students from the course can be included. If the mentioned tools Etherpad and Wiki are set up within the groups, they will only be visible to their members as well as the teachers.

Etherpad

The Etherpad allows several participants to write at the same time. The pad can be pre-structured by the teachers through headers, questions, etc. It is more suitable for shorter texts.
https://ovidius.uni-tuebingen.de/ilias3/goto.php?target=cat_2433404&client_id=pr02

https://www.bib.uni-mannheim.de/multimedia-zentrum/lernplattform-ilias/etherpad

 

Wiki

The Wiki also allows collaborative writing, but is a much more comprehensive tool: different pages and sub-pages can be opened and media can be inserted. A pre-structuring can be done e.g. via the starting page, where the various sub-pages are displayed. A Wiki can also be used as a kind of semester diary for a group.

https://iliasdocuworld.qualitus.de/goto.php?target=pg_2565_124&client_id=iliasdocuworld 

https://docu.ilias.de/goto_docu_pg_56132_3402.html

Groups can also be set up in Moodle. This platform also has the option of setting up a Wiki.

Scientific associations have also addressed the issue of digitization. Here is the corresponding website of the Deutscher Germanistenverband. https://vfr.mww-forschung.de/web/digitale-lehre-germanistik/einstieg?s=09

Uni-Tübingen

Hinweise zur Lehre im Wintersemester 2020/2021

1. Organisatorisches

Was ist im Wintersemester 2020/21 anders?

Für das Wintersemester 2020/21 ist, bedingt durch die Corona-Pandemie, ein anderes Zeitraster als sonst üblich vorgesehen. Laut Beschluss des Rektorats hat jede Lehrveranstaltung – egal ob synchron, online oder in Präsenz – ein Zeitfenster von 60 Minuten. Die weiteren 30 Minuten sind als fester Bestandteil der Veranstaltung asynchron zu leisten. Wesentlich ist nach wie vor, dass die Lernziele der Lehrveranstaltung bzw. des Moduls erreicht werden. Das erfordert eine klare Strukturierung und didaktische Gestaltung. Dies bedeutet aber nicht, dass in jeder Woche das Schema 60 plus 30 zu erfüllen ist (s. u.). Die folgende Zusammenstellung ist nur ein erster Aufschlag.  Im September werden weitere Hinweise zu Einsatz und Nutzung von Tools folgen. 

Wie erhalten die Studierenden wichtige Informationen über die Lehrveranstaltung, deren Strukturierung und didaktische Gestaltung?

Eine kurze Beschreibung sollte Teil der Ankündigung der Lehrveranstaltung in ALMA sein. Hier bitte auch vermerken, wo die Veranstaltung auf der Lernplattform zu finden ist. Zur eigenen Vorbereitung wie auch als ausführlichere Information für die Studierenden, ist es empfehlenswert, einen Syllabus (Lehrplanung) zu verfassen und zur Verfügung zu stellen. Mit der transparenten Information an die Studierenden kann ein Rahmen gesetzt und auch Verbindlichkeit geschaffen werden. Der Syllabus enthält z.B. die Lernziele der Veranstaltung, Ablauf und Struktur einschließlich der einzelnen Termine und ggf. Abgabefristen, Hinweise auf zu lesende Literatur, zu Aufgaben oder Fragestellungen, die von den Studierenden zu bearbeiten sind, zu Studien- und Prüfungsleistungen sowie zu Kommunikation und Umgang miteinander usw. 
Interessierte finden beispielsweise hier Anregungen:
https://ctl.byu.edu/sites/default/files/designing-a-course-syllabus_0.pdf

Können mehrere 30-Minuten-Blöcke zusammengefasst werden?

Ja, das ist möglich. Was die Reihenfolge anbelangt, können diese Blöcke zeitlich vor oder nach der eigentlichen Lehrveranstaltung liegen. 

Wie genau müssen die Zeiten berechnet werden?

Es kann an dieser Stelle lediglich um eine grobe, aber plausible Einschätzung gehen. Wesentlich ist die Ergänzung der synchronen Lehrveranstaltung, auch für die Lehrdeputatsberechnung. 

2. Konzepte & didaktische Möglichkeiten

Wie können die asynchronen Arbeitsphasen gestaltet werden?

2.1. Inverted bzw. flipped classroom

Als bereits erprobtes Modell bietet sich insbesondere der sogenannte inverted bzw. flipped classroom an. Das Prinzip ist einfach und kann ganz unterschiedlich umgesetzt werden: Inhalte, die üblicherweise in Lehrveranstaltungen vor Ort vermittelt werden, eignen sich die Studierenden im Vorfeld (daher inverted, „umgedreht“) selbst an – als Video, Podcast, Online-Modul (z.B. OER) oder im traditionellen Textstudium. Die Präsenzzeit ist für die Vertiefung der Inhalte, für Austausch und Diskussion sowie für Fragen an die Lehrenden reserviert. Es besteht Raum für interaktive Gestaltung und Begegnung. Für Seminare können auch Referate vorab aufgezeichnet oder als Foliensatz und Skript zur Verfügung gestellt werden – und mit den Materialien auch die zugehörigen Fragestellungen. Dasselbe gilt für die Vorbereitung von Texten. Auch mathematische Aufgaben können für eine gemeinsame Präsenzsitzung aufbereitet werden. Ergänzend ist auch der Einsatz von Foren in der Vorbereitung möglich.

Konkret heißt das z.B.: ein Referat wird rechtzeitig vor dem Präsenztermin als Video oder Folien mit Erläuterung in ILIAS hochgeladen, außerdem erhalten die Studierenden Fragen dazu. Alle bereiten sich mit diesen Materialien auf die gemeinsame Sitzung vor. In der Sitzung werden die Themen und Fragen kurz aufgegriffen und dienen als Ausgangspunkt für die weitere Diskussion. 

In der Mathematik etwa werden Inhalte vorab als Aufzeichnung zur Verfügung gestellt, Studierende bearbeiten zugehörige Aufgabenblätter und bereiten die gemeinsame Sitzung vor, in der Fragen und Probleme besprochen werden. 

Zum Modell des inverted bzw. flipped classroom mit einigen Beispielen siehe auch https://www.e-teaching.org/lehrszenarien/vorlesung/inverted_classroom 

Sehr anschaulich sind auch die Videos zur Mathematik von Prof. Christian Spannagel, PH Heidelberg – Einführung in das Konzept für Studierende

Wer mehr lesen möchte: hier ein Beitrag aus Großbritannien https://core.ac.uk/download/pdf/30317388.pdf

2.2. Asynchrone Gruppenarbeit

Denkbar ist auch die Vorbereitung oder Nacharbeit einer Sitzung in einer asynchronen, durch die Lehrenden angeleiteten Gruppenarbeit. Dies wird in ILIAS z.B. durch das Etherpad oder das Wiki ermöglicht. Hiermit können z.B. im Vorfeld Fragen und Themen gesammelt und strukturiert werden. In der Nachbereitung können Ergebnisse gesichert, dokumentiert und schriftlich ausformuliert werden. Die Aufgabenstellung kann dabei für alle dieselbe sein oder für jede Gruppe unterschiedlich. In der Präsenzsitzung werden Zwischenstände und Ergebnisse aus den Gruppen mit aufgenommen – am besten nach einem regelmäßigen Muster. Dabei kann z.B. der/die Lehrende Zwischenstände kurz kommentieren oder es wird aus einer Gruppe berichtet. 

Formen der Asynchronen Gruppenarbeit

Gruppen in ILIAS

ILIAS ermöglicht die Einrichtung von Gruppen (über „Neues Objekt hinzufügen“), in die jeweils z.B. 3-4 Studierende aus dem Kurs aufgenommen werden. Sofern die genannten Tools Etherpad und Wiki innerhalb der Gruppen eingerichtet werden, sind sie nur für deren Mitglieder sowie die Lehrenden sichtbar. 

Etherpad

Im Etherpad können mehrere Teilnehmende gleichzeitig schreiben. Das Pad kann durch die Lehrenden durch Überschriften, Fragen o.a. vorstrukturiert werden. Es eignet sich vom Umfang her eher für kürzere Texte. 

Wiki

Das Wiki erlaubt ebenfalls das gemeinsame Schreiben, ist jedoch ein viel umfangreicheres Tool: es können verschiedene Seiten und Unterseiten eröffnet und Medien eingefügt werden. Eine Vorstrukturierung kann z.B. über die Startseite erfolgen, auf der die diversen Unterseiten angezeigt werden. Ein Wiki kann auch als eine Art Semestertagebuch für eine Gruppe genutzt werden. 

Auch in Moodle können Gruppen eingerichtet werden, die Plattform verfügt ebenfalls über die Möglichkeit, ein Wiki einzurichten. 

Akademische Fachgesellschaften haben sich ebenfalls mit der Digitalisierung befasst. Hier dieser Hinweis des Deutschen Germanistenverbandes