Institute of Political Science

Institute of Political Science

Welcome to the website of the Institute of Political Science at the University of Tübingen. Founded in 1952, we are the oldest political science department in Germany, and a renowned centre of excellence in both teaching and research. We offer a wide range of courses and programmes in political science for both BA and MA students. Cutting edge research is undertaken in our research units led by our professors, all international specialists in their respective fields. 


Abels, Gabriele (Professor)

Abels, Joscha (Research Officer)

Afscharian, Dominic (Research Officer - Fus-Project)

Andrä, Christine (Research Officer)

Augenstein, Lea (Research Officer)

Barrios, Harald (Private Lecturer)

Berten, John (Research Officer / Lecturer)

Betz, Johanna (Research Officer - Project GROEG)

Bieling, Hans-Jürgen (Professor)

Bruzelius, Cecilia (Junior Professor)

Buchner, Julia (Administration)

Buhr, Daniel (Adjunct Supernumery Professor)

Conradi, Elisabeth (Private Lecturer)

Cress, Anne (Research Officer)

Dierksmeier, Claus (Professor)

Diez, Thomas (Professor)

Dreier, Volker (Private Lecturer)

Edel, Mirjam (Senior Lecturer, tenured)

Eilfort, Michael (Honorary Professor)

Frankenberger, Rolf (Senior Lecturer, tenured / Academic Counsellor)

Frech, Siegfried (Honorary Professor)

Futterer, Andrea (Research Officer - Project GROEG)

Gater-Smith, Philip (Teach at Tuebingen-Lecturer)

Glynn, Natalie (Research Officer / Lecturer)

Große Hüttmann, Martin (Senior Lecturer, tenured / Academic Counsellor)

Guntrum, Simon (Research Officer)

Hasenclever, Andreas (Professor)

Huke, Nikolai (Research Officer - Project WuDiD)

Jäger, Uli (Honorary Professor)

Jopp, Mathias (Honorary Professor)

Kiefer, Maximilian (Research Officer)

Kuisma, Mikko (MPPSC Program Lead)

Locher-Finke, Birgit (Honorary Professor)

Löw, Christine (TEA-Guest Professor)

Lucke, Franz von (Research Officer)

Meier-Braun, Karl-Heinz (Honorary Professor)

Menze, Thore (Research Officer - Fus-Project)

Messerschmidt, Maike (Research Officer)

Mohr, Edward (Research Officer - Fus-Project)

Nagel, Melanie (Research Officer - Project GROEG)

Nickisch, Petra (Administration)

Pawlowski, Natalie (Research Officer)

Plieninger, Jürgen (Librarian)

Reiss, Lea (Research Officer - MiSP-Project)

Sändig, Jan (Research Officer)

Schlag, Gabi (Senior Lecturer, tenured / Academic Counsellor)

Schlumberger, Oliver (Professor)

Schrogl, Kai-Uwe (Honorary Professor)

Schulten, Thorsten (Honorary Professor)

Seeleib-Kaiser, Martin (Professor)

Settgast, Regine (Administration)

Sowula, Jakob (wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter)

Templ, Karl-Ulrich (Lecturer)

Tocci, Natalie (Honorary Professor)

Trautner, Bernhard (Honorary Professor)

Tremmel, Jörg (Adjunct Supernumery Professor)

Wagner, Stief (Administration)

Wehling, Hans-Georg (Honorary Professor)

Zolleis, Udo (Honorary Professor)



Open Lecture: Gender & Security - A Practice Report

Cynthia Petrigh (Beyond Peace), Tuesday 18th June 2019 - 16 h c.t. - Lecture Room 10, Neue Aula

Read more


Gastvortrag: Brexit and European Security

Ben Tonra (Univ. College Dublin) am Dienstag, 21. Mai 2019, 16 h c.t. im HS 24, Kupferbau

Read more


2019 Tübingen Lecture on Social Europe

Danny Dorling: Regional Inequality in the EU and Its Impact - Thursday, May 9, 2019, 18:00 c.t. -...

Read more


2018 Tübingen Lecture on Social Europe: Maurizio Ferrera on "A European Social Union: Piecing the Puzzle Together"

New institutions are seldom built from scratch. They are typically born through piecing together...

Read more


Antrittsvorlesung: „Citizenship, Europe and Social Rights“

Prof. Dr. Martin Seeleib-Kaiser am Mittwoch, den 07. Februar 2018, 16 Uhr c.t. im Großen Senat,...

Read more


Gastvortrag: Is a universal basic income politically achievable?

** Die Veranstaltung findet leider nicht statt ** Philippe Van Parijs (Université catholique de...

Read more


Institutskolloquium/Departmental Seminar: Human Diversity and the Constitutional Structure of World Order

Dr. Dennis R. Schmidt (Durham/Tübingen) at Wednesday, 17.01.18, 16.15 h p.m. in Room 124, IfP

Read more


Untere Ebene der IfP-Bibliothek mit neuen Stühlen ausgestattet

Drehstühle für entspanntes Arbeiten in der Bibliothek

Read more