Institute of Media Studies

Chair of Film, Television and Audiovisual Media

The Chair of Audiovisual Media, Film and Television and the central institution Center for Media Competence (ZFM) are headed by Prof. Dr. Susanne Marschall. Both departments work in close cooperation. A unique feature of the two departments is the combination of theory and practice in fields such as film and television (e.g., feature films, documentaries and animated films), radio, photography, science communication (including health communication) and audiovisual formats on the Internet (web documentaries, blogs and apps). 

Our aim at the Chair of Audiovisual Media, Film and Television is to promote an approach to the potent and ubiquitous medium of film that is aesthetically and historically competent and ethically responsible. This approach also includes, in addition to the artistic forms of film, all forms of journalism, for example on television, on the Internet or on the radio.


Carolin Wiede
Wilhelmstr. 50
2. Stock, Raum 209
72074 Tübingen

+49 (0) 7071 29-74271