Department of Physics

The Department of Physics

Welcome to our Website

The department comprises of four institutes from the physics domain as well as two coopted groups from the medicine domain.

Mathematics and Astronomy have a long tradition in Tübingen, as they are represented here since 1507. The first scientific faculty of Germany was founded here in 1863.

The multifaceted research covers for example astro-particle physics, quantum optics, superconduction, electron microscopy, nano-structures, biophysics, medical physics, quantum field theory, relativistic astrophysics and space research with satellites - to name only some fields of research.