Doctoral programs

Doctoral programs generally fulfill the following criteria:

  1. They are part of a shared research context such as a Research Training Group, Collaborative Research Center or an interfaculty program.
  2. They ensure appropriate structures for research coordination, promoting scientific exchange and qualification.
  3. They offer a structured admissions procedure consisting of an application and selection process which considers the candidate’s suitability.

Other names for doctoral programs include:

Information on specific doctoral programs at the University is given on the website of the coordinating faculty.

Important: Whether and when calls for applications for scholarships and positions are carried out varies greatly. Please refer to the program website for current information.

DFG Research Training Groups

Faculty of Medicine

Faculty of Humanities

Faculty of Economics and Social Sciences

Faculty of Science

Faculty of Protestant Theology

Faculty of Catholic Theology
Faculty of Law