Institut für Angewandte Physik

Optical Nanospectroscopy I

1st Annual Conference of the COST Action MP1302 Nanospectroscopy

March 24 - 28, 2014 *** Eberhard Karls University Tübingen, Germany

Foto: Friedhelm Albrecht©Universität Tübingen

Thanks to all participants for a great conference!


- UV / vis / NIR / Raman spectroscopy
- Spectroscopic techniques with (ultra-)high spatial, temporal, and spectral resolution and sensitivity
- Nanoscale systems design and nanofabrication: Novel (hybrid) (in)organic nanomaterials
- Physical processes and modelling of light-matter-interaction and energy flow at the nanoscale

Program overview:

Download Program-Optical-Nanospectroscopy-I.pdf

March 24th to 26th is dedicated to the scientific conference program.
March 27th and 28th is dedicated to Working Group (WG) Meetings of the COST Action MP1302 Nanospectroscopy.

All registered participants of the COST Action and their group members are cordially invited to attend whichever WG Meetings they are interested in.
All other conference participants who are interested in the WG Meetings: Please register with the COST Action before the conference by email to monika.fleischerspam

More information can be found at

Confirmed invited speakers:

Harald Giessen, University of Stuttgart, Germany
Johannes Gierschner, IMDEA Madrid, Spain
Martti Kauranen, Tampere University of Technology, Finland
Katrin Kneipp, Technical University of Denmark, Denmark
Joachim Krenn, University of Graz, Austria
Florian Kulzer, University of Lyon, France
Alfred Meixner, University of Tuebingen, Germany
Lukas Novotny, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
Michel Orrit, University of Leiden, The Netherlands
Richard Palmer, University of Birmingham, UK
Mathieu Surin, University of Mons, Belgium
Niek van Hulst, ICFO, Spain

Important dates:

Abstract submission and pre-registration deadline: January 31st, 2014.
Notification of acceptance & program online: February 15th, 2014.
Conference: March 24th-28th, 2014.
Manuscript submission deadline: May 31st, 2014.

Abstract Submission:

Open now until January 31st, 2014.
Abstracts should be sent via email attachment together with pre-registration to
indicating the preferred mode of presentation (oral or poster).

Abstract format (please use the provided template): Download template

Manuscript Submission:

Open now until May 31st, 2014.
A special issue of the brand-new open access de Gruyter journal Nanospectroscopy is being reserved for peer-reviewed full conference proceedings research papers (no publication fee).
For instructions for authors, please check the journal webpage or see the attached pdf.
Manuscripts should be submitted to the journal via email to Nanospectroscopy.editorialspam with the comment "Special Issue COST-Conference Optical Nanospectroscopy I".


Pre-registration: Open until January 31st, 2014.
For preregistration, please send an email to COSTaction-nanospectroscopyspam

The email should include:

You will receive a confirmation of receipt within the following few days. If no email message is received within a week, please contact us again.
Confirmation of acceptance is sent to the participants by February 15th, 2014.
The confirmation will be accompanied by instructions for final registration.

Registration fee:
For participants from academia participation is free.
Members of the COST Action MP1302 Nanospectroscopy can apply for partial travel reimbursement.
Participants from industry: Please contact the conference organizers (COSTaction-nanospectroscopyspam

Sponsoring and Exhibition:

For Sponsoring and Exhibition opportunities, please contact the conference organizers (COSTaction-nanospectroscopyspam
Exhibition dates: Monday, March 24th (9 AM) to Wednesday, March 26th (5 PM).

Confirmed Exhibitors & Sponsors:


The Welcome Reception Sunday March 23, 6-9 PM, will take place in
Room Kleiner Senat, Neue Aula
Eberhard Karls University Tübingen
Geschwister-Scholl-Platz (Wilhelmstraße 7)
72074 Tübingen, Germany

The Conference Dinner Tuesday March 25, 7:30-11 PM, will take place in
Casino am Neckar
Wöhrdstraße 25
72072 Tübingen, Germany

The Scientific Conference March 24-26 will take place in
Lecture Hall N3, Hörsaalzentrum Morgenstelle
Auf der Morgenstelle 16
Eberhard Karls University Tübingen
72076 Tübingen, Germany

The Working Group Meetings March 27-28 will take place in
Room 7E02, Hörsaalzentrum Morgenstelle
Eberhard Karls University Tübingen
Auf der Morgenstelle 16
72076 Tübingen, Germany

How to get there:
The closest Airport to Tübingen is Stuttgart (Echterdingen) Airport (about 30 min by car).
Outside the airport, Bus 828 leaves for Tübingen (and vice versa) about once per hour (travel time about 60 min to Tübingen town, plus one change to the Science Campus). Tickets are 6,35 € per trip.
Bus lines 5, 13, 18, 19 run between the city and Science Campus every 5 min until 8 PM, every 30 min after 8 PM.
The Campus bus stop is "BG Unfallklinik".
Single tickets are 2,20 €, day tickets 3,70 €, buyable from ticket machines on the bus (coins only!).
Bus timetables and trip information can be found here.


All participants and speakers are kindly asked to arrange their own accomodation.
Please check the Tübingen Tourist Information website or the non-exclusive list of Tübingen hotels below:

Hotel Albblick Hotel Alte Krone Hotel Am Schloss Hotel Barbarina
Hotel Domizil Hotel Hospiz Hotel Katharina Hotel Krone
Hotel Kupferhammer Hotel La Casa Hotel Meteora Hotel Metropol
Hotel Stadt Tübingen Youth Hostel    

Conference Organizers:

Prof. Dr. Monika Fleischer
Institute for Applied Physics
University of Tübingen
Auf der Morgenstelle 10
72076 Tübingen, Germany
Tel: ++49 (0)7071 29-76336

PD Dr. Dai Zhang
Institute of Physical and Theoretical Chemistry
University of Tübingen
Auf der Morgenstelle 15
72076 Tübingen, Germany
Tel: ++49 (0)7071 29-77639

Many thanks to the Local Organizing Team:

Simon Dickreuter - general organization
Gabriele Thomas - general organization
Sven zur Oven-Krockhaus - abstract book

Annika Bräuer

Christoph Dreser

Julia Fulmes

Dominik Gollmer

Emre Gürdal

Joachim Heimberger

Anke Horneber

Andreas Horrer

Yagmur Ipek

Regina Jäger

Sebastian Jäger

Nils Merten

Jan Rogalski

Kathrin Swider

Omar Tanirah

Marius van den Berg

  ESF provides the COST Office through an EC contract COST is supported by the EU RTD Framework Programme