Department of Computer Science

Cognitive Science (Master)

Target Group

The Cognitive Science Master's program is suitable for bachelor's graduates with an above-average cognitive science or comparable degree. There should also be a clear interest in current research questions in cognitive science; these include, but are not limited to, questions about perception, motor control, learning, memory, problem solving, reasoning, and language. In addition to pure research questions, however, interest in the application of cognitive science knowledge is also relevant. Important prerequisites are a good command of English and sufficient background knowledge in at least the core subjects of cognitive science: psychology and computer science.

Study contents

Sample study plan, examination regulation 2018 (PDF)

Study objectives

The aim of the MSc Cognitive Science education is to provide broad-based fundamentals regarding the fields of application, regarding the theoretical methods for problem solving and regarding the practical application of these methods. The study of Cognitive Science prepares students for professional practice in Cognitive Science and related (sub-) disciplines, but also trains them to work in an interdisciplinary manner and to effectively exchange knowledge and expertise across traditional disciplinary boundaries. The Master's degree thus qualifies students both for further study (doctorate) and an academic career, as well as for assuming a key interdisciplinary position in various professions.

Occupational fields and perspectives

Career prospects open up both in advanced basic research and in application. Areas of application include the medical-clinical field, information technology, the automotive industry, robotics and high technology in general. However, innovative product development, science management and science journalism are also potential career fields. Concrete examples are cognitive ergonomics, communication consulting, multimedia and e-learning, human-machine interface, operability of machines, user interface optimization, design and development of effective software, or development and programming of service robots and of high-tech prostheses.

More information:

http://www.gk-ev.de

http://plato.stanford.edu/entries/cognitive-science

http://cognitivesciencesociety.org

http://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kognitionswissenschaft

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cognitive_science

Fachbereich Informatik

Kognitionswissenschaft (Master)

Zielgruppe

Der Studiengang Kognitionswissenschaft Master ist für Bachelorabsolventen mit einem überdurchschnittlichen kognitionswissenschaftlichen oder vergleichbaren Abschluss geeignet. Außerdem sollte ein klares Interesse an aktuellen Forschungsfragen der Kognitionswissenschaft vorhanden sein; dazu gehören u.a. Fragen zur Wahrnehmung, Motorik, Lernen, Gedächtnis, Problemlösen, Denken und Sprache. Neben den reinen Forschungsfragen ist aber auch das Interesse an der Anwendung von kognitionswissenschaftlichem Wissen von Relevanz. Wichtige Voraussetzungen sind gute Englischkenntnisse sowie ausreichendes Hintergrundwissen zumindest in den Kernfächern der Kognitionswissenschaften: Psychologie und Informatik.

Studieninhalte

Beispiel-Studienplan für Masterstudiengang, PO 2018

Studienziele

Ziel der Ausbildung zum MSc Kognitionswissenschaft ist die Vermittlung breit angelegter Grundlagen bezüglich der Anwendungsgebiete, bezüglich der theoretischen Methoden zur Problemlösung und bezüglich der praktischen Anwendung dieser Methoden. Das Studium der Kognitionswissenschaft bereitet auf die berufliche Praxis in der Kognitionswissenschaft und verwandten (Teil-) Disziplinen vor, schult aber auch die interdisziplinäre Arbeit und den effektiven Wissens- und Expertisenaustausch über traditionelle Fächergrenzen hinweg. Der Masterabschluss befähigt somit sowohl zum weiterführendem Studium (Promotion) und einer wissenschaftlichen Karriere als auch zur Einnahme einer interdisziplinären Schlüsselstellung in verschiedenen Berufen.

Berufsfelder und Perspektiven

Berufliche Perspektiven eröffnen sich sowohl in der weiterführenden Grundlagenforschung als auch in der Anwendung. Anwendungsgebiete umfassen den medizinisch-klinischen Bereich, die Informationstechnologie, die Autoindustrie, die Robotik und die Hochtechnologie im Allgemeinen. Aber auch die innovative Produktentwicklung, Wissenschaftsmanagement und Wissenschaftsjournalismus sind potentielle Berufsfelder. Konkrete Beispiele sind die kognitive Ergonomie, die Kommunikationsberatung, Multimedia und E-Learning, die Mensch-Maschine-Schnittstelle, die Bedienbarkeit von Maschinen, die User-Interface-Optimierung, das Design und die Entwicklung von effektiver Software oder auch die Entwicklung und Programmierung von Servicerobotern und von High-Tech-Prothesen.

 Weitere Information im WWW:

http://www.gk-ev.de

http://plato.stanford.edu/entries/cognitive-science

http://cognitivesciencesociety.org

http://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kognitionswissenschaft

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cognitive_science