Business Research Seminar at the School of Business and Economics

Covering the entire spectrum of research in business and management and different backgrounds and career stages, the Business Research Seminar invites scholars from institutions around the globe to present their work in Tübingen. The Business Research Seminar is hosted by Prof. Dr. Dominik Papies.

Talks take place either on campus or online (Zoom), and they usually start on Wednesdays at 2:00 p.m (CEST). Exceptions are made to accomodate different time zones of speakers.

Program Winter 2021/2022

November 3, 2021 +++starts at 9:00 a.m. +++
Nicole Gillespie (PhD),
KPMG Chair in Organizational Trust and Professor of Management (University of Queensland Business School)
„Preserving Organizational Trust During Disruption"
Please join via Zoom: 


December 15, 2021 ***cancelled - postponed to the summer term***
Dr. Michael Lechner,
Professor of Econometrics (Co-Head of the Swiss Institute of Empirical Economic Research at the University of St. Gallen)
„The Effect of Sport in Online Dating: Evidence from Causal Machine Learning“
Room tba


January 12, 2022
Dr. Lara Lobschat, Assistant Professor for Marketing & Supply Chain Management, School of Business and Economics (Maastricht University)
„Should All Customers be Multichannel? Investigating the Moderating Role of Brand and Loyalty Tiers“


January 19, 2022
Dr. Vanessa Flagmeier,
Assistant Professor for Business Administration with a focus on Accounting (University of Passau)
„Tax Loss Carryforward Disclosure"

Please join via Zoom:


January 26, 2022 ***cancelled - postponed to the summer term***
Dr. Katrin Talke,
Professor of Marketing (TU Berlin)
„Topic tba“


February 2, 2022
Dr. Florian Hoos, Affiliate Professor in the Department of Accounting and Management Control (HEC Paris)
„Topic tba“

Previous Guest Speakers

Previous presenters have been: (2013) Dr. Lars Helge Haß (Senior Lecturer, Lancaster); Frank Germann (PhD, Assistant Professor of Marketing, University of Notre Dame Indiana, USA); Prof. Dr. Christian Leuz (Professor of International Economics, Finance and Accounting, University of Chigaco Booth School of Business); Prof. Valentyna Melnyk - Assoc. Professor of Marketing, Massey University); Prof. Harald van Heerde - Professor of Marketing, Massey University); Assoc. Prof. Dr. Carsten Bienz (Norwegian School of Economics (NHH) Bergen); (2014) Alexandra Hess (PhD) Waikato Management School, Hamilton Neuseeland); Prof. Dr. Dirk Sliwka (Universität zu Köln); Prof. Dr. Martin Jacob (WHU); Hendrik Vrijburg, Assistant Professor (Erasmus University Rotterdam); Prof. Dr. Johannes Voget (Universität Mannheim); (2015) Dr. Michael Ebert (Universität Mannheim); Prof. Dr. Werner Güth (Max-Planck-Institut für Ökonomik, Jena); Prof. Dr. Dirk Schindler (NHH Bergen); Prof. Dr. Deborah Schanz (LMU München); (2015 summer term): Dr. Vijaya Bhaskar Marisetty (RMIT University); Prof. Dr. Franziska Völckner (Universität zu Köln); Prof. Dr. Ulrike Stefani (Universität Konstanz); Prof. Dr. Sebastien Bradley (Drexel University Philadelphia, USA); (2015/16 winter term): PhD Harm Schütt (LMU München); Assistant Professor Daniel Saavedra (UCLA Anderson School of Management, USA); (2016 summer term): Prof. Dr. Peter Zweifel (University of Zurich); Prof. Dr. Steffen Rapp (Philipps-Universität Marburg); Prof. Pooyan Khashabi, PhD (LMU); Prof. Dr. Nina Smith (Aarhus University); Ass. Prof. Dr. Jana Thiel (Maastricht University); Dr. Johannes Jaspersen (LMU); Prof. Dr. Zacharias Sautner (Frankfurt School of Finance & Management); Jun.-Prof. Dr. Christopher Bleibtreu (Universität Konstanz); Dr. Simona Mutu (UBB Klausenburg); (2017 summer term): Prof. Dr. Andreas Pfingsten (Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster); Assistant Professor Nathan Seegert (The University of Utah); Assistant Professor Edlira Shehu (University of Denmark, SDU);(2017/18 winter term): Dr. Patrick Herbst (University of Stirling); Associate Professor Dr. Christoph Merkle (Kühne Logistics University); Jun.-Prof. Dr. Ulf Brüggemann (Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin); Dr. Julia Müller (Universität Münster); Prof. Dr. Martin Spann (LMU München); Prof. Dr. Sebastian Müller (GGS Heilbronn); (2018) Dr. Markus Nagler (LMU München); Ass. Prof. Leslie Robinson (Tuck School of Business); Linh T.Tô (Harvard University); Prof. Dr. Kay Blaufus (Leibniz Universität Hannover); Prof. Dr. Bernd Frick (Universität Paderborn); Prof. Dr. Nicola Breugst (TUM Entrepreneurship Research Institute); Dr. Patrick Buchmüller (Deutsche Postbank AG) (2018) Ass. Prof. Dr. Sebastien Bradley (LeBow College of Business, Drexel University); Dr. Corinna Woyand (WWU Münster); Ass. Prof. Dr. Christoph Sextroh (Tilburg University); Prof. Dr. Florian Kunze (Universität Konstanz); Konstantin Wagner, M.Sc. (Halle Institute for Econonmic Research); (2019 Summer Term) Daniel Saavedra (PhD) Assistant Professor of Accounting (UCLA Anderson School of Management, California); Ana-Maria Fuertes (PhD) Professor of Finance and Econometrics (Cass Business School, University of London); Dr. Andreas Walter Professor of Financial Services (Justus-Liebig-University Giessen); Dr. Jan Hendrik Fisch Professor of International Business (Vienna University of Economics and Business (WU Wien); Dr. Mark Heitmann Professor of Marketing & Customer Insight (University of Hamburg); Andrew Smith (PhD) Professor of Consumer Behaviour (Nottingham University Business School); Dr. Martin Thomas Hibbeln Professor of Finance (University of Duisburg-Essen); Frank Germann (PhD) Associate Professor of Marketing (Mendoza College of Business, Notre Dame, Indiana); (2019 Winter Term) Dr. Anja Iseke Professur für BWL, insb. Personalmanagement (Technische Hochschule OWL); Maximilian Todtenhaupt (PhD) Assistant Professor, Norwegian School of Economics (NHH); Dr. Max Bruche Professor of Finance (Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin); Dr. Klaus Miller Assistant Professor of Quantitative Marketing (Goethe Universität Frankfurt am Main); (2020 Summer Term) Dr. Matthias Heinz Professur für Strategie (Universität zu Köln); Dr. Martin Jacob Professor für Betriebswirtschaftliche Steuerlehre, WHU – Otto Beisheim School of Management; Dr. Alexander Bleier Assistant Professor of Marketing (Frankfurt School of Finance & Management) ; Paolo Saona (Ph.D.) Professor of Finance (Saint Louis University Madrid); (2021 Summer Term) Dr. Sönke Sievers (Professor for International Accounting (University of Paderborn); Bradley L. Kirkman, Ph.D. Professor of Leadership (Poole College of Management at North Carolina State University); Dr. Daniel Blaseg Assistant Professor of Entrepreneurship (ESADE Business School)