Parabolic Mirror Nanooptics Group

Welcome to the parabolic mirror nano optics group website. As a subgroup of the Nanospectroscopy research group of Prof. Alfred J. Meixner, we are dedicated in developing novel optical microscopic techniques and in applying them to study the light-matter interactions in the fields of fundamental as well as application-oriented science.

Group leader: Professor Dai Zhang

Google Scholar Profile

Short CV


Bachelor degree, Chemistry, Henan Normal University, P. R. China


Master degree, Chemistry, Henan Normal University, P. R. China

(Supervisor: Prof. Zhenhui Wang)


Doctor degree, Chemistry, Nanjing University, P. R. China

(Supervisors: Prof. Xinghua Xia and Prof. Hongyuan Chen)


Postdoc, Physical Chemistry, Fritz-Haber-Institute, Max-Planck-Institute, Germany, (Advisors: Dr. Bruno Pettinger and Prof. Gehard Ertl)


Senior Research Fellow, Chemistry, University Southampton, UK


Habilitation & Junior research group leader, Institute of Physical and Theoretical Chemistry, Eberhard Karls Universität Tübingen

(Advisor: Prof. Alfred J. Meixner)


Arbeitsgemeinschaft Deutscher Universitäts-Professoren für Chemie (ADUC) Jahrespreis für Habilitanden und Habilitandinnen, Germany


Helene-Lange-Preis, Germany


Permanent position, Sub-research group leader for ‚Parabolic Mirror Nanooptics‘,  Eberhard Karls Universität Tübingen

2016-2018 Akademische Rätin, Eberhard Karls Universität Tübingen

Akademische Oberrätin, Eberhard Karls Universität Tübingen

2023 apl. Professor, Eberhard Karls Universität Tübingen

Team member

Felix Schneider

  • PhD student
  • Project: Nanoparticle- and tip-based gap mode spectroscopy
  • Room: VG 1.110
  • Phone:+49-7071-29-77637
  • E-mail:

Yang Zhao

  • Ph D student
  • Project: Local properties of optoelectronic materials at the nanometer scale
  • Room: VG 1.110
  • Phone:+49-7071-29-77637

Tim Parker

  • PhD student
  • Project: Tip enhanced optical and photocurrent microscopy of organic thin films
  • Room: VG 1.110
  • Phone:+49-7071-29-77637
  • E-mail:

David Baschnagel

  • HiWi
  • Project: Electromagnetic and chemical enhancements of organic molecules on SERS active surfaces
  • Room: VG 0.119
  • Phone:+49-7071-29-78657

Aylin Ceylan

  • Vertiefungspraktikum
  • Project: Construct a confocal optical microscope
  • Room: VG 0.119
  • Phone:+49-7071-29-78657

Former Team members