Steering Committee

The Steering Committee of the Cluster consists of the 2 spokespersons and currently 6 additional members of the Cluster, who represent different research areas and institutions within the Cluster.

Zeynep Akata

Explainable Machine Learning
Professorship at the Cluster

Philipp Berens

Data Science for Vision Research
Cluster Speaker



Matthias Hein

Machine Learning
Cluster full member

Ulrike von Luxburg

Theory of machine learning
Cluster speaker


Jakob Macke

Machine Learning in Science
Professorship at the Cluster



Bernhard Schölkopf

Empirical Inference
Cluster full member

Thomas Scholten

Soil Science and Geomorphology
Cluster full member


Charley Wu

Human and Machine Cognition
Representative of the Cluster's Research Groups