Department of Computer Science

Research areas

Bioinformatics & Medical Informatics

Machine Learning

Software & Systems Engineering

Jun.-Prof. Dr. Jonathan  Brachthäuser
Software Engineering
Sand 13, Raum: B 215

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Oliver Bringmann
Embedded Systems
Sand 13, Room: B 209


Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Torsten Grust
Database Systems
Sand 14, Room: B 318


Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Michael Menth
Communication Networks
Sand 13, Room: B 302


Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Thomas Walter
Information Services
Wächterstr. 76, Room: 1.105



Vision & Cognition

Prof. Dr. Peter Dayan, PhD
Computational Neuroscience (Humboldt Professorship for Artificial Intelligence)
Max-Planck-Ring 8

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Volker Franz
Experimental Cognitive Science
Sand 13, Room: B 215

Honorary and coopted professorships, Industry-on-Campus groups

Prof. Dr. Philipp Berens
Data Science for Vision Research

Prof. Dr. Matthias Bethge (coopted)
Computational Neuroscience and Machine Learning

Prof. Michael J. Black, Ph.D.
(Honorary prof.)

Perceiving Systems

Prof. Dr. Manfred Claassen

Clinical Bioinformatics

Prof. Dr. Carsten Eickhoff (coopted)
E-Health and Medical Data Science

Dr. Shahram Eivazi
(Festo IoC)

Autonomous Systems

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Martin Giese
Computational Sensomotorics

Prof. Dr. Reinhard Kahle
Philiosophy and History of Sciences

Dr. Anna Khoreva
(Bosch IoC)

Data-Efficient Deep Learning

Prof. Dr. habil. Thomas Kropf
(Honorary prof.)

Eingebettete Systeme

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Thomas Küstner (coopted)
Medical Image and Data Analysis

Prof. Andrei Lupas, Ph.D.
(Honorary prof.)


Prof. Dr. Stephan Ossowski

Computational Genomics

Prof. Dr. Bettina Rolke
Evolutionary Cognition

Prof. Dr. Bernhard Schölkopf
(Honorary prof.)
Empirical Inference

Dr. Dan Zhang
(Bosch IoC)

Safe Deep Learning


Adjunct professors, Heisenberg scholars

Former professors, retired professors

Machine Learning for Computer Vision Prof. Dr. Bjoern Andres (Honorary prof.)

Computer Networks and Internet

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Georg Carle
Database and Information Systems Prof. Dr. Ulrich Güntzer
Discrete Mathematics Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Peter Hauck
Medieninformatik / Human-Computer Interaction

Prof. Dr. Enkelejda Kasneci

Data Science & Analytics Prof. Dr. Gjergji Kasneci (Honorary prof.)
Programming Languages and Compiler Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Herbert Klaeren
Human-Computer Interaction Jun.-Prof. Dr. Alexandra Kirsch
Symbolic Computing Prof. Dr. sc. techn. Wolfgang Küchlin
Theoretical Computer Science Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Klaus-Jörn Lange
Computer Algebra Prof. Dr. Rüdiger Loos
Autonomous Learning Robots Prof. Dr. Gerhard Neumann (Honorary prof.)
Technical Computer Science Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Wolfgang Rosenstiel (obituary)
Logic and Language Theory Prof. Dr. phil. Peter Schroeder-Heister

Methodology of Computer-Aided Text Interpretation

Prof. Dr. Harald Schweizer
Graphisch-Interaktive Systeme (GRIS) Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dr.-Ing. E. h. Wolfgang Straßer (obituary)