Department of Computer Science

Research areas

Bioinformatics & Medical Informatics

Machine Learning

Software & Systems Engineering

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Oliver Bringmann
Embedded Systems
Sand 13, Room: B 209


Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Torsten Grust
Database Systems
Sand 14, Room: B 318


Prof. Dr. sc. techn. Wolfgang Küchlin
Symbolic Computing
Sand 14, Room: C 105


Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Michael Menth
Communication Networks
Sand 13, Room: B 302


Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Wolfgang Rosenstiel
Technical Computer Science
Sand 13, Room: B 207


Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Thomas Walter
Information Services
Wächterstr. 76, Room: 1.105



Vision & Cognition

Prof. Martin Butz, Ph.D.
Cognitive Modelling
Sand 14, Room: C 415

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Volker Franz
Experimental Cognitive Science
Sand 13, Room: B 215

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Andreas Geiger
Learning-based Computer Vision/Autonomous Vision
Max-Planck-Ring 4, Room: S2.016

Independent Research Groups (Cyber Valley)

Honorary- and coopted professorships

Prof. Dr. Björn Andres
(Honorary prof.)
Bosch Industry on Campus

Prof. Michael J. Black, Ph.D.
(Honorary prof.)

Perceiving Systems

Dr. Gjergji Kasneci
(Schufa Industry on Campus)

Data Science & Analytics

Prof. Stephan Ossowski

Computational Genomics

Prof. Dr. Philipp Berens
Data Science for Vision Research

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Martin Giese
Computational Sensomotorics

Prof. Dr. habil. Thomas Kropf
(Honorary prof.)

Technische Informatik

Prof. Dr. Bettina Rolke
Evolutionary Cognition

Prof. Dr. Matthias Bethge (coopted)
Computational Neuroscience and Machine Learning

Prof. Dr. Reinhard Kahle
Philiosophy and History of Sciences

Prof. Andrei Lupas, Ph.D.
(Honorary prof.)


Prof. Dr. Bernhard Schölkopf
(Honorary prof.)
Empirical Inference


Unscheduled professors, Heinsenberg scholars

Former professors

Database Systems Prof. Dr. Ulrich Güntzer
Discrete Mathematics Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Peter Hauck
Programming Languages and Compiler Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Herbert Klaeren
Human-Computer Interaction Jun. Prof. Dr. Alexandra Kirsch
Computer Algebra Prof. Dr. Rüdiger Loos