Institute of Political Science

Institute of Political Science

Welcome to the website of the Institute of Political Science at the University of Tübingen. Founded in 1952, we are the oldest political science department in Germany, and a renowned centre of excellence in both teaching and research. We offer a wide range of courses and programmes in political science for both BA and MA students. Cutting edge research is undertaken in our research units led by our professors, all international specialists in their respective fields. 


Abels, Gabriele (Professor)

Abels, Joscha (Research Officer)

Afscharian, Dominic (Research Officer - Fus-Project)

Andrä, Christine (Research Officer)

Augenstein, Lea (Research Officer)

Barrios, Harald (Private Lecturer)

Berten, John (Research Officer / Lecturer)

Betz, Johanna (Research Officer - Project GROEG)

Bieling, Hans-Jürgen (Professor)

Bruzelius, Cecilia (Junior Professor)

Buchner, Julia (Administration)

Buhr, Daniel (Adjunct Supernumery Professor)

Conradi, Elisabeth (Private Lecturer)

Cress, Anne (Research Officer)

Dierksmeier, Claus (Professor)

Diez, Thomas (Professor)

Dreier, Volker (Private Lecturer)

Edel, Mirjam (Senior Lecturer, tenured)

Eilfort, Michael (Honorary Professor)

Frankenberger, Rolf (Senior Lecturer, tenured / Academic Counsellor)

Futterer, Andrea (Research Officer - Project GROEG)

Glynn, Natalie (Research Officer / Lecturer)

Große Hüttmann, Martin (Senior Lecturer, tenured / Academic Counsellor)

Hasenclever, Andreas (Professor)

Jäger, Uli (Honorary Professor)

Jopp, Mathias (Honorary Professor)

Kassem, Sarrah (Research Officer)

Kiefer, Maximilian (Research Officer)

Kuisma, Mikko (MPPSC Program Lead)

Locher-Finke, Birgit (Honorary Professor)

Lucke, Franz von (Research Officer)

Meier-Braun, Karl-Heinz (Honorary Professor)

Menze, Thore (Research Officer - Fus-Project)

Messerschmidt, Maike (Research Officer)

Mohr, Edward (Research Officer - Fus-Project)

Nagel, Melanie (Research Officer - Project GROEG)

Nickisch, Petra (Administration)

Nies, Antje (Administration)

Pawlowski, Natalie (Research Officer)

Plieninger, Jürgen (Librarian)

Reiss, Lea (Research Officer - MiSP-Project)

Sändig, Jan (Research Officer)

Schlag, Gabi (Senior Lecturer, tenured / Academic Counsellor)

Schlumberger, Oliver (Professor)

Schrogl, Kai-Uwe (Honorary Professor)

Schulten, Thorsten (Honorary Professor)

Seeleib-Kaiser, Martin (Professor)

Sowula, Jakob (wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter)

Templ, Karl-Ulrich (Lecturer)

Tocci, Natalie (Honorary Professor)

Trautner, Bernhard (Honorary Professor)

Tremmel, Jörg (Adjunct Supernumery Professor)

Wagner, Stief (Administration)

Zolleis, Udo (Honorary Professor)



Informations- und Begrüßungsveranstaltungen zum Start ins Wintersemester 2022/2023

Begrüßungs- und Informationsveranstaltungen zu Beginn des Wintersemesters

Read more


Departmental Seminar with our Distinguished Visiting Professor Erica Frantz

When & Where? 20 July, 4:15pm in room 124, IfP Topic: "The Origins of Elected Strongmen: How…

Read more


Debatte um den Namen der Universität

Entschluss der Instituts-Vollversammlung

Read more


Einladung zur Institutsvollversammlung

Freitag, 15.07.2022, 17.00-18.30 Uhr - Raum 124 – Institut für Politikwissenschaft oder via ZOOM

Read more


Zulassungsverfahren Bachelorstudiengänge

Informationen zu den zulassungsbeschränkten Bachelorstudiengängen (BA Hauptfach und Nebenfach;…

Read more


IfP Departmental Seminar:The Transformative Potential of Rights of Nature: Struggling for Alternatives to Destructive Anthropocentric Development

Jun.-Prof. Dr. Riccarda Flemmer will give her inaugural lecture on the topic "The Transformative…

Read more

Social Media

Mailing-lists, Twitter and Facebook. Last not least: RSS-Feeds of the Institute.