Institute of Sociology


16th December 2020

The library of the Institute of Sociology will remain closed until 10 January 2021. Access to the Institute is also closed to the public as of today. Please also note the shortened opening hours of the Hegelbau: from today until 08.01.2021: Mon - Fri 8am until 8pm

Christmas break: The Hegelbau will be closed from 23.12.2020 to 06.01.2021.


Due to the current developments in the COVID19-pandemic, all teaching will take place ONLINE  for the time being. We will keep you updated.



Founded in 1960 by the renowned sociologist Ralf Dahrendorf , the Department of Sociology has developed since then into a modern center of sociological teaching and research in which six professors examine current social issues. What they have in commonis is their empirical focus. [Read on]

Relevant contacts

Function Phone/Room E-Mail Consultation hours

Head of the Department

Prof. Dr. Boris Nieswand


R 113

@Nieswand Di 9-10:30 Uhr,
by Doodle appointment only


Karolin Mattes


R 107

@Mattes Mon-Fri 9-15:30

Director of Degree Programs

Prof. Dr. Jörg Strübing


R 124


Wed 14-16 by appointment

During the semester break:

Appointment by e-mail:

Study advisor
Antonia Platten


R 102


Wed 14-16 by prior e-mail appointment

During the semester break:
1.8.,15.8.,5.9.,26.9., always 14-16

Internship advisor
Antonia Platten


R 102


Wed 14-16 by prior e-mail appointment

During the semester break:
1.8.,15.8.,5.9.,26.9., always 14-16

Internship Commissioner

Scott Milligan, PhD


R 126

@Milligan by appointment

Equal opportunities


R 110

@Dieterich by appointment

EDP Commissioner

Prof. Dr. Jörg Strübing


R 124


Wed 14-16 by e-mail appointment

During the semester break:


EDP support

Carlo Heimisch


R 128


by appointment / notice board


Svitlana Benz
(Prof. Groß, Prof. Schober)

Karin Schlotterer
(Prof. Hillmert)



R 114


R 105






Mon-Fri 8-13


Mon-Fri 8-12

Student Council R 103 @Fachschaft Monday 5 pm
Phone (07071 ...)
Consultation hours (room)
Prof. Dr. Martin Groß


Wed 14:30-16 (R 115)

by e-mail appointment with Mrs. Benz


Prof. Dr. Steffen Hillmert


Wed 14-15:30 (R 106) after prior email appointment with Ms. Schlotterer  ( 07071 29-76892) 
Please send organisational queries about courses to Ms. Schlotterer.


Prof. Dr. Marion Müller 29-72951

Lecture period: Thu 12-13 (R 112)
Lecture-free period: by e-mail appointment

Prof. Dr. Boris Nieswand 29-72948

Wed 9-10:30 (R 113)
Appointments via Doodle

Prof. Pia S. Schober, Ph.D. 29-73462

Tue 14-15 (R 108)

Appointments with Mrs. Benz


Prof. Dr. Jörg Strübing


Wed 14-16 (R 124)
Appointment by e-Mail:

Visiting Professor
Dr. Sandra Krapf 29-73462   @Krapf
Researchers, senior researchers and doctoral candidates
Hannah Bennani, Dr. 29-72949 by appointment (R 111)


Silke Büchau, M.A. 29-78383 by appointment (R 104) @Buechau
Sophia Cramer, M.A   by appointment (R 111) @Cramer
Dr. Anno Dederichs


on leave @Dederichs
Manuel Dieterich, M.A. 29-78381 by appointment (R 110) @Dieterich
Ludovica Gambaro, PhD   by appointment @Gambaro
Moritz Fischer, M.A. 29-77574 n. a. (Keplerstr. 2, R 087) @Fischer
Michael Hutzler 29-78381 by appointment (R 110) @Hutzler
Silvia Kopecny, M.A. 29-75436 by appointment (Wilhelmstr. 36, R 109) @Kopecny
Dr. Volker Lang 29-72947 by appointment (R 126) @Lang
Helen Law, Ph.D 29-78383    
Dr. Damián Omar Martínez 29-77275 by appointment (Keplerstr. 2, R 284) @Martinez
Karoline Mikus, M.A. 29-77461 Mon 2:30-4 pm after prior appointment by email (Keplerstr. 2, R 145) @Mikus
Scott Milligan, PhD 29-72947    
Dr. Sophie Müller 29-72949 currently not teaching @Müller
Dr. Ursula Offenberger 29-7513 by appointment (Hausserstr. 11/U6) @Offenberger
Antonia Platten 29-75497 Wed, 2-4pm by prior e-mail appointment (R 102) @Platten
Philipp Rhein, M.A.   by app. (Doctoral College-Rightwing Populism, Gartenstr. 29) @Rhein
Dr. Laia Sanchez Guerrero 29-78383 by appointment (Wilhelmstr. 36, R104) @Sanchez
Dr. Marc Schwenzer 29-77460 by appointment (Keplerstr. 2; R145) @Schwenzer
Richard Siegert, M.A.   by app. (Doctoral College-Rightwing Populism, Gartenstr. 29) @Siegert
Fabian Stöhr, M.A. 29-78376 by appointment (Keplerstr. 2, R 146) @Stöhr
Associate / Visiting Professors
Prof. Dr. John Neelsen 29- by appoinment ( Hegelbau, room 127) @Neelsen
Prof. Dr. Herman G. van de Werfhorst   n.a. @vandeWerfhorst
Teaching staff (temporary)
Dr. Renate Baumgartner 29-75674 by appointment @Baumgartner

Louise-Alice Härtig, B.A.

  by appointment


Dr. Andreas Kögel

0921 55-4850/55- -4197 Universität Bayreuth,
Kulturwissenschaftliche Fakultät
Debora Niermann, M.A. 0761 203-54137

University of Freiburg, Department of Sociology



Daniel Pastuh, M.A.

  by appointment (University of Jena)


Dr. Kie Sanada   by appointment @Sanada

Alexander Schlager, M. A.

29-72929 by appointment (Keplerstr. 4, R 3)


Svitlana Benz 29-74217 Tue, Wed, Thu 9-13 (R 114) @Benz
Karolin Mattes 29-74664 Mon-Fri 9-15:30 (R 107) @Mattes
Karin Schlotterer


Mon-Fri 8-12 (R 105)

Dr. Jürgen Plieninger


by appointment
IfP, Melanchthonstr. 36, R 102
Student assistants
Carlo Heimisch (EDV) 29-78384 by appointment (R 128) @computerhiwi

Emeriti and former staff members

Name Title Previous function Email

Colloseus, Cecilia

M.A. wiss. Mitarbeiterin @Colloseus
Deutschmann, Christoph Prof. Dr. Hochschullehrer i. R. @Deutschmann
Estel, Bernd PD Dr. Privatdozent i. R. @Estel
Gildemeister, Regine Prof. Dr. Hochschullehrerin @Gildemeister
Seyfahrt, Constans Prof. Dr. Hochschullehrer i.R. @Seyfahrt
Schiller, Maria Dr. Hochschullehrerin @Schiller
Schweiker, Michael M.A. Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter @Schweiker
Sprondel, Walter Prof. Dr. Hochschullehrer i.R. @Sprondel
Vandecasteele, Leen Prof. Dr. Hochschullehrerin @Vandecasteele
Weber, Hannes Dr. Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter @Weber
Weßling, Katharina Dr. Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin @Weßling
Notice board
 IfSoz from A to Z