Department of Physics

Institutes of the Physics Department

Institute for Astronomy and Astrophysics

Section Astronomy 
Prof. Dr. Klaus Werner, Leader: UV Astronomy: Stellar Spectra from White Dwarfs, Neutron Stars, Accretion Disks 
Prof. Dr. Beate Stelzer, Leader Research Group: Space-based astronomy: Observational Star Formation & Evolution and Experimental UV astronomy

Section High-Energy Astrophysics 
Prof. Dott. Andrea Santangelo, Leader: High Energy Astrophysics: X-rays, Gamma-rays and ultra-high-energy cosmic rays 

Section Theoretical Astrophysics 
Prof. Dr. Kostas Kokkotas, Leader: Relativistic Astrophysics: Neutron Stars, Black Holes, Gravitational Waves 
Dr. Daniela Doneva, Emmy Noether Research Group: Relativistic Astrophysics: Testing modified gravity via gravitational waves

Section Computational Physics
Dr. Christoph Schäfer, Research Group: Computational Astrophysics: Smoothed Particle Hydrodynamics and tree methods

Institute for Applied Physics

Prof. Dr. Monika FleischerLeader: Plasmonic Nanostructures

Prof. Dr. Jannik MeyerLeader: Electron microscopy Advanced Materials

Prof. Dr. Martin OettelLeader: Computational Soft Matter/Nanoscience and Experimental Colloidal Physics
  PD Dr. Hans-Joachim SchöpeResearch Group: Experimental Colloidal Physics

Prof. Dr. Tilman SchäfferLeader: NanoBioPhysics and Medical Physics

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Frank SchreiberLeader: Physics of molecular and biological Material
  Dr. Alexander GerlachResearch Group: Organic Thin Films and Interfaces
  PD Dr. Fajun ZhangResearch Group: Biophysics and NanoScience

Prof. Dr. David WharamLeader: Mesoskopic Physics and Nanostructures

Physical Institute

Prof. Dr. Sebastian Slama: Many-body Cavity QED Gruppe

Prof. Dr. Reinhold Kleiner / Prof. Dr. Dieter Kölle: Superconducting and Magnetic Layered Structures/Supraleitende und Magnetische Schichtstrukturen

Prof. Dr. Christian Groß: Experimental Quantum Many-Body Physics

Prof. Dr. Hans Rudolf Schmidt: Nuclear Matter under Extreme Conditions

Prof. Dr. Josef Jochum: Astro Particle Physics

Prof. Dr. Tobias Lachenmaier: Neutrino Physics

Prof. Dr. József Fortágh: Quantum Optics & Ultracold Atoms

Prof. Dr. Claus Zimmermann: Quantum Optics

Institute for Theoretical Physics

Prof. Dr. Matthias Bethge: Computational Neuroscience

Prof. Dr. Daniel Braun: Theoretical Quantumoptics

Prof. Dr. Barbara Jäger: Theoretical High Energy Physics

Prof. Dr. Igor Lesanovsky: Theoretical Atomphysics and synthetic Quantumsystems

Prof. Dr. Hugo Reinhardt: Quantum Field Theory

Prof. Dr. Roland Roth: Statistical Physics of Soft Matter

Prof. Dr. Nils Schopohl: Theoretical Solid State Physics

Prof. Dr. Werner Vogelsang: Theoretical Nuclear and Particle Physics

Coopted Professors


Prof. Dr. Erik Schäffer: Cellular Nanoscience (Center for Molecular Plant Biology)

Physics in Neuroscience

Prof. Dr. Boris Hofmann: Intelligent Neuroimplants (IAP, IoC)

Prof. Dr. Bernhard Schölkopf: Empirical Inference (MPI for Intelligent Systems)

Biomedical Physics

Prof. Dr. Bernd Pichler: Preclinical Imaging (University Hospital Tübingen)

Prof. Dr. Klaus Scheffler: High-field Magnetic Resonance (MPI for Biological Cybernetics)


Prof. Dr. Dr. Fritz Schick: Experimental Radiology (Uniklinikum Tübingen)

Prof. Dr. Daniela Thorwarth: Medical Physics in Radiation Oncology (Uniklinikum Tübingen)


Prof. Dr. Kira Rehfeld: Climatology and  the Biosphere

Prof. Dr. Reinhard Drews: Geophysics