Emmy-Noether Junior Research Groups

The Emmy Noether Programme gives exceptionally qualified early career researchers the chance to qualify for a university professorship by leading an independent junior research group. The groups are funded by the German Research Foundation (DFG) for a period of six years.

Current Emmy Noether Groups

Resource-Efficient Bayesian Machine Learning (R. Bamler)

Group head: Prof. Dr. Robert Bamler, Department of Computer Science – Data Science and Machine Learning

Duration: 2021-2027

Robert Bamler's homepage

Gravitational Waves from Compact Objects - a Tool for Testing Strong Gravity and Nuclear Matter at Extreme Densities (D. Doneva)

Group head: Dr. Daniela Doneva, Institute for Astronomy and Astrophysics

Duration: 2018-2024

Homepage of the "Gravitational Waves from Compact Objects" group 

Quantifying ice-ocean interactions with geophysical observations and modelling

Group head: Prof. Dr. Reinhard Drews, Department of Geoscience – Geophysics

Duration: 2018-2024

Homepage of the Geophysics work group

Rhythmic Building Blocks of Human Attention: How Network Oscillations Link Perception and Action (R. Helfrich)

Group head: Dr. Randolph Helfrich, Hertie Institute for Clinical Brain Research (HIH) 

Duration: 2020-2026

Randolph Helfrich's homepage

The Role of the Ecology in Evaluative Conditioning: Towards a Comprehensive Conceptualization of Preparedness (M. Hütter)

Group head: Prof. Dr. Mandy Hütter, Department of Psychology – Social Cognition and Decision Sciences

Duration: 2015-2023

Homepage of the "Evaluative Conditioning" group

Role of Sema7A during the Resolution of Kidney Ischemia-/Reperfusion Injury (A. Körner)

Group head: Dr. Andreas Körner, University Hospital and Faculty of Medicine, Clinic for Anesthesiology and Intensive Care Medicine

Duration: 2022-2028

Andreas Körner's homepage

Modulating the Gut Microbiome Composition with Drugs (L. Maier)

Group head: Prof. Dr. Lisa Maier, Interfaculty Institute of Microbiology and Infection Medicine

Duration: 2019-2025

Homepage of the "Drug-Microbiome-Host Interactions" research group

SPECSY: Structure-Potential Relationships of Electrochemical Interfaces by in situ Reflection Anisotropy Spectroscopy (M. May)

Group head: Dr. Matthias May, Institute of Physical and Theoretical Chemistry

Duration: 2020-2026

Homepage of the "SPECSY" group

Religious Conflict and Mobility Byzantium and the Greater Mediterranean, 700–900 (F. Montinaro)

Group head: Dr. Federico Montinaro, Institute of Ancient History

Duration: 2020-2026

Homepage of the "Religious Conflict and Mobility" group

Imaging Neuroinflammatory Axonal Injury at Nanoscale Resolution (I. Nikić-Spiegel)

Group head: Dr. Ivana Nikić-Spiegel, Werner Reichardt Centre for Integrative Neuroscience (CIN) 

Duration: 2016-2022

Homepage of the "Imaging Neuroinflammatory Axonal Injury" group

Real Virtual Humans (G. Pons-Moll)

Group head: Prof. Dr. Gerard Pons-Moll, Department of Computer Science – Continuous Learning on Multimodal Datastreams

Duration: 2018-2024

Homepage of the "Real Virtual Humans" group

Transport Anisotropy in Nanocrystal Superlattices (M. Scheele)

Group head: Prof. Dr. Marcus Scheele, Institute of Physical and Theoretical Chemistry

Duration: 2015-2023

Marcus Scheele's homepage

The Language Dynamics of the Ancient Central Andes (M. Urban)

Group head: Dr. Matthias Urban, Department of Linguistics

Duration: 2017-2023

Homepage of the "The Language Dynamics of the Ancient Central Andes" group

Systems Biology Analysis of Vaccine-induced Immunity to Infectious Diseases in Cancer Patients (F. Wimmers)

Group head: Dr. Florian Wimmers, Interfaculty Institute of Biochemistry (IFIB)

Duration: 2022-2028

Homepage of the Wimmers Lab