Uni-Tübingen

B2

Time Course of Presupposition Processing

The project is concerned with the question how presuppositional information is processed during the online construction of a sentence’s meaning. Building on earlier results, we propose a model of pragmatic presupposition processing in which listeners expect speakers to make pragmatically felicitous utterances and use these expectations to incrementally and predictively process incoming material. We propose to link violations of such expectations to empirical data from mouse-tracking experiments among others. Mouse tracking is an established tool in cognitive psychology that delivers fine-grained data about the temporal unfolding of a decision process.


Principal Investigators

AkadR. Dr. Oliver Bott

 +49 7071 29-78486
Fax: +49 7071 29-5830

oliver.bott@uni-tuebingen.de

General Linguistics
Wilhelmstraße 19, room 1.24
72074 Tübingen

Website

Prof. Dr. Michael Franke

 +49 541 969-3370
Fax: +49 541 969-3374

michael.franke@uni-osnabrueck.de 

Institute of Cognitive Science
Wachsbleiche 27, room 50/107
D-49090 Osnabrück

Website

Prof. Dr. Gerhard Jäger

 +49 7071 29-77302

gerhard.jaeger@uni-tuebingen.de 

General Linguistics
Wilhelmstraße 19, room 1.20
D-72072 Tübingen

Website

Prof. Dr. Markus Janczyk 

 +49 421 2186872   

 janczyk@uni-bremen.de

 

 

RG Research Methods and Cognitive Psychology
Hochschulring 18, Cognium (R. 0460)
28359  Bremen

Website


Research Staff

Nadine Balbach (M.A.)

 +49 7071 29-77168 
nadine.balbach@uni-tuebingen.de 

 

Website

 
Cosima Schneider (M.A.)

 +49 7071 29-78359
cosima.schneider@uni-tuebingen.de 

Department of Psychology
Schleichstraße 4, room 4319
D-72076 Tübingen

Website


Associated Researchers

Dr. Natalia Korotkova

 

n.korotkova@ucla.edu 

Department of Linguistics
Universitätstraße 10, Fach D 181 
D-78457 Konstanz

Website


Former Principal Investigators

Prof. Dr. Sigrid Beck
PD Dr. rer. nat. Ingo Hertrich
Prof. Dr. Pritty Patel-Grosz
Prof. Dr. Bettina Rolke

Website

 

Dr. Sonja Tiemann
Dipl. Psych. Mareike Kirsten
Therese André
Anna-Elisabeth Burkhard
Anthea Schöller